top of page

Hospital bag packing - everything but the kitchen sink


I think I have had my hospital bag packed for a good 2 months, maybe it's apart of my 'nesting' process - anyone who knows me knows I always need something to do and a list to tick. With my bag(s) I have packed and re-packed to make sure I am not taking too much but at the end of the day I would rather be too prepared (if that is possible).


A good idea I was given was to split the bag into seperate parts, one part for you and one for baby, I have also been told another way is to pack what is essential for now, and what can be brought in perhaps the next day which is the option I have gone for.




My hospital bag:


1. Something to deliver in - ideally red or black due to blood stains. I have chosen a black nursing nightie from Next online. I chose nursing for the off chance it can be used again after. I also chose something which had straps as giving birth is a sweaty process.


2. PJ's to be comfortable in after. I purchased a nursing nightie from Prenatal and I also have a trouser set (Primark).


3. Nursing bra's and a sleep bra (mine are all from ASOS). I have read online that sleeping in a bra is perhaps more comfortable after birth.


4. Black underwear (Primark) - key for any spillages.


5. Maternity disposable underwear (Always brand), pads etc.


6. Breast pads - I have Morrison's own brand and Tommee Tipee as it came in the bottle set I purchased.


7. Nursing tops (both short and long sleeve) - All from ASOS.


8. Leggings and joggers, for hospital and to go home in.


9. Slippers.


10. Dressing Robe.


11. Towel and flip flops - the hospital won't provide a towel and I was advised about flip flops due to the amount of people who have used the shower before you.


12. Flannel - I have been recommended this due to it getting hot during labour which your partner can use on your forehead or back of the neck.


13. Snacks - I perhaps thought too much into this but I purchased my favourite flavoured water, lucozade, water, snack a jacks and sweets. It is good to note that in hospital they usually only feed the mother and not the father.


14. Clothes for him - your partner might get too hot in the process and wouldnt mind a change of clothes, additionally anything he does wear might get covered in blood to bare in mind.


15. Lavender spray - Lavender is a great relaxant especially during labour.


Toiletries:


1. Shampoo and conditioner (all in one to reduce space.)


2. Dry Shampoo.


3. Razer.


4. Face and eye masks (Your baby will sleep alot and you won't always have visitors so I made the conscious decision to have no makeup but to treat my skin).


5. Moisturisor.


6. Lip balm or Vaseline. - This has been recommended alot as you get dry lips during labour.


7. Witch Hazel - During my research this is to be used on any maternity pads for relief down there! - We will see!


8. Deodorant, hair brush, toothbrush, toothpaste and cotton pads (as I use these instead of face wipes).


Baby's hospital bag:


1. Babygrows and vests - I was recommended 5 of each.


2. Hats, mittens, muslins*, bibs.


* It's a good idea to place underneath the baby's head in the crib incase if they vomit there is less mess.


3. Cellular blanket (Recommended to regulate baby's body temperature). I have packed 2.


4. Ready made formula incase your baby doesnt latch or you cannot breastfeed - I have packed 4 bottles of Aptamil.


5. Towel


6. Nappies and wipes. - I have purchased two sizes of nappies incase she is smaller or bigger than expected. Also, Morrison's usually run out of newborn size (size 0) which is another reason why I stocked up. I have purchased both pampers and nutmeg (Morrison's own brand) as I have been told these are better for spillages. (Also cheaper!).


7. Toiletries bag for baby - perhaps I am a little OTT but I have packed items such as sudocream, talcum powder, Johnsons baby wash and dummies.


Extra's:


1. Phone charging cable.


2. Camera and charging cables.


3. Any items which makes you feel at home such as your favourite pillow.


4. Download a playlist - I have an app for spa music downloaded as a way to relax me - Lets see if that works!


Like I said - everything BUT the kitchen sink! Once I have given birth I'll do a comparison and see if I did use everything I packed!


Until next time,


All our love,

Baby C and Me X

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page