top of page

Being there for your brain

Updated: Jan 30, 2020

Pregnancy is tough work, physically of course but also mentally. Before becoming pregnant I completely took for granted the whole idea of being in control of my hormones, my emotions and my mind. At the beginning of my pregnancy I wanted to be the one in complete control and not let the imbalance of hormones pregnancy brings control me, naively I think that made me lose control quicker.

In theory, I wanted to be the boss of pregnancy however 6 months in I have come to terms that this is not healthy for me or the baby. Here are my top tips on how to declutter your mind at a time when you feel most out of control:


1. Cry if you want to cry - it doesn't make you weaker. I think it is a strength to be able to let go.


2. If you have your partner or someone close to speak to, do, tell them anything and everything that is bothering you. Unfortunately for mine I work at a millions miles per hour so he hears a lot from me. (Sorry, not sorry).


3. Unwind, relax and take time out. Every Sunday I make sure to have a bath to zone out, no phone, no music, no background noise. You and your baby. I also find this to be a great time to bond especially when you are at the kicking stage. Another go to for me is to take television out of the mix, I find TV very distracting for my brain to function, my husband on the other hand has to have TV on all of the time and the first thing I do when he leaves the house is switch it off, removing the background noise helps your mind breath a little.





4. Exercise. That one hour yoga class once or twice a week does wonders. The walk to and from the class with a podcast is also a nice extra.


5. Swap music for knowledge. Since being pregnant I have wanted to find out anything and everything about pregnancy to help me feel the most prepared. Podcasts are a great way for me to take in bite size info, in a chatty conversation whilst walking to my next destination - in my opinion a lot more beneficial than listening to the same playlist you've already heard a million times.


These are some things which work for me, perhaps you are a TV lover who needs a good tune to let go, whatever works for you, find it and cherish it.


All our love,

Baby C and Me X



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page