top of page

Google - Your best friend or worst enemy?

Updated: Jan 30, 2020

Everyone is guilty of a quick tap into that famous search bar but are we ready for the consequences.


In some cases I will agree Google is my best friend, it gives me the answers I feel I need to know at the time I want to know them and without having to ask someone else. However, the likes of Google and YouTube also became my worst enemy. Hats off to all the bloggers, vloggers, any type of influences out there who are able to tell you anything and everything about their lives - in todays millennial age I am more than thankful for the extra pool of knowledge we can dip into, but it can also be quite frightening.

I cannot tell you the amount of YouTube video's and articles I came across wanting to understand if a non-symptom pregnancy was A-OK which quickly escalated into video after video and story after story from one type of miscarriage to another.


I am very thankful I have not experienced this myself, but I soon learnt this is more common than people might think and due to the lack of knowledge or conversions spoken about this topic made me obsess over the thought and fear of miscarriage. I soon came across early miscarriage vlogs to further along vlogs where I learnt about 'missed miscarriages' at as late as 14 weeks or more.


At my 12 week scan I was so fortunate to see our little one wriggling around and even waving, (crazy I know and I would not have believed it until I saw it for myself). At this stage your baby is only a mere 6-7cm and it is incredible how this little thing has so much strength.

After this scan, my worries seemed to wash away and I had to realise on my own that each and every pregnancy is different, the way the people involved feel is different, the experience even at the scans is different. I am someone who is extremely on the ball, everything has to be in my control and on my own terms so the only advice I can give is, do not rely so much on the likes of Google and YouTube, it is helpful on one hand, but unhelpful on the other. This is something you have to go through by yourself and you just have to learn along the way.


As a little side note, I want to highlight the dangers of mis-use of the online world, from Google to Instagram influencers, it does that little bit of good to your mental health to step away for a while and enjoy living in the moment.

All our love,

Baby C and Me X

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page