top of page

What to really expect when your expecting

Updated: Jan 30, 2020




Being pregnant brings a whole new ball game to your life, a whole new set of rules, which perhaps you weren't ready for. Giving up alcohol, absolute no biggie, but what about everything else?


At 22 weeks I am going to let you in on some of the struggles which I have felt along the way from foods you can no longer enjoy - that's the easy part - down to the feeling of not being able to do anything by yourself but breathe.


Lets start with the basics.


1. Constipation.

I didn't ever think this would become a struggle but at 22 weeks in, my body has gotten used to the daily struggle of going to the loo or not going in my case.


2. Peeing for an army - or that's how it feels!

I'm currently on an average of going between 15+ times a day. Fun right?


3. Foods you cannot eat:

- Uncooked meats so jamon serrano goes right out of the window and say goodbye to that juicy rare steak you used to enjoy!

- Runny eggs with your soldiers are no more (even down to the meringue on your friends birthday cake) - Raw eggs are a no go!

- Mayonnaise (usually more so in any establishment that isn't your house).

- Prawns or similar

- Caffeine (not food but still consumed) - this isn't restricted but your intake should be monitored.


Now down to the heavy stuff, well for me anyway.


4. What medicines can you take when pregnant? Apparently nothing.

Sickness? Back Ache? Head Ache? Sore Neck? Flu? Cold? Sore Throat? Runny Nose?

Enjoy it all because there is very little you can do about it.


5. Walking (almost) everywhere.

In Gibraltar having a moped is a must and in a second that is gone. Don't get me wrong I have no issue in walking, but being able to quickly nip into town is seriously missed. Being able to get anywhere in 15 minutes or less is seriously missed. Having to plan everything that little bit more because I either have to walk or take the car, well it really wasn't something I ever considered before.


6. Lack of independence.

During pregnancy you fully give up any independence you ever had before. I am a doer, something needs to get done and I do it, I never needed to rely on anyone's help or timeline, I did things the way I wanted and when I wanted, now having to rely on my husband, my friends or family, becomes a bit more stressful. Not because I don't want to ask for help, but more so because I can longer do it. Carrying any form of shopping? Nope. Building some ikea furniture for my baby's room - definitely not.


7. The things people say. Don't lift that, that's bad for the baby. Don't cross your legs, that's bad for the baby. Don't go to the gym, that's bad for the baby.
So what can you do when pregnant? well, breathe! It's the only thing that isn't controlled by the rules of pregnancy or something that people have an opinion on. Don't get me wrong, I love being pregnant and feel very blessed I have a little human growing inside of me, but as much as you feel prepared for when that extra line appears on that pregnancy stick, I don't think you can ever feel fully prepared physically or mentally.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page